Mobile Search

You are here

You are here

Added: 11 months 6 days ago

Share this story

NRM candidate, Joseph Andrew Koluo, wins Toroma by-election
Joseph Andrew Koluo, the National Resistance Movement party candidate, has been declared the winner of Toroma County parliamentary by election held on Thursday.

The  Chairperson of the Electoral Commission Justice Joseph Simon Byabakama warned against acts  of violence shortly after NRM’s candidate Joseph Koluo was declared the winner of the Toroma county Member of Parliament by-election.Byamukama, however, admitted that there was violence in some areas during the election exercise.

Before the announcement of the results, FDC’s secretary General Nandala Mafabi stormed the tally centre during vote counting claiming that the results were inaccurate because the figures at the tally centre were different from those at the polling station.

The results released  by the Electoral Commission indicate Kuluo obtained 8,262 to beat seven other candidates. His closest rival Robert Imalingat, an independent candidate garnered 4,072 votes.

Others in the race were Solomon Ossiya Alemu also an independent with 3,440 votes, FDC’s Martin Odaka polled 3,081 votes, Independent John Robert  Ekongot 1,957, Independent Imakorit Constantine 295  votes,  UPC’s  candidate, Omiat Andrew Joseph  99 votes, and Independent Aeku Patrick Edyangu 72 votes.